Once upon a time...
A slice of History
Just 2 km south of Épernay, the capital of Champagne, stands Château de Pierry, a remarkable example of 18th-century Champagne architecture.
This country retreat was built in 1734 by Monseigneur de Choiseul-Beaupré, Count-Bishop of Châlons-en-Champagne, who also developed the estate to produce champagne. And it is no coincidence that Monseigneur de Choiseul-Beaupré chose this location. Indeed, the village of Pierry has been associated with the name of champagne since the end of the 17th century. It was then that a Benedictine monk, cellarmaster and disciple of the famous Dom Pérignon, Brother Jean Oudart, got involved early in the development of this noble wine.
OUR CHÂTEAU IN NUMBERS
In 1734, in the heart of the Champagne vineyards, Monseigneur de Choiseul-Beaupré, Count-Bishop of Châlons-en-Champagne, built Château de Pierry as his country residence to accommodate subjects of the French Court.
This magnificent Gentilhommière (country retreat) used to house the vineyard and winery outbuildings where Jean-Baptiste Gobillard, Monseigneur de Choiseul’s first Master Winegrower, worked. He is a direct descendant of Jean-Paul Gobillard who in 1975 decided with his father Paul to buy the Château and open it to visitors and hire it out for receptions.
Today, Château de Pierry is managed by Jean-Christophe Gobillard, who will be delighted to welcome you to this unique country house.